YALSA blog review

yalsaThe YALSA blog provides updates about relevant information to the YA field with respect to programs, conferences, initiatives, resources and activities. While it is associated with the ALA, the information can be very helpful for Canadian librarians as well.

What did I learn? I learned that there is literally a ton of information available for YA librarians. This website provides a lot of information but it also provides links to other websites that would be helpful. 

What surprised me? There were a few pleasant surprises with this blog. To begin, I was really surprised that it allows teens to blog. You have to be 13 or older and approved by the blog manager, but I thought it was amazing that considering it is about teens, they let teens have a voice. I thought that this was great. I was also surprised by the content. The blogs had great program ideas, important links, etc. It seemed like a great place to get quality information to help improve YA services in a library.

How useful a resource is this? I think this is a very useful resource. It is a great way to get new ideas, but it is also a great way to stay up to date. The website includes issues that are really relevant, but also talks about things teens are interested in. It is a great resource for staying connected and to learn.

Will you continue to monitor?  Why or why not? I will continue to monitor this site, and I might even post a few of the programs for my program section. I think it is a great resource for ideas and would be helpful to any librarian working with young adults.

2 Responses

  1. This is a more general comment beyond this blog entry. I think you have a great blog. I wish you blogged more often. I love your writing style, topics, and overall opinion. Keep doing your thing!

  2. Thanks Daryl!!!!

Leave a Reply

