Zombies as the new Vampire?

Honestly, I don’t get it.

Vampires have been popular and hot since Interview with the Vampire, probably before. I read about them as a teen and loved them. I watched Buffy and secretly wished that Spike was real. The guys are usually the ultimate bad boy, the girls tend to kick ass. They’re usually wealthy, very educated, many have travelled the world.

Zombies….they’re just dead.

I do enjoy a good Zombie book or movie where the Zombies are trying to kill you (slowly of course) but would I want to date one? I think it’s the falling off skin, slow movement and lack of intellect that turns me off. I haven’t actually read any books yet that have painted Zombies in a positive light. I did just buy Generation Dead, which I plan to read over Christmas. Maybe it will change my mind about Zombies, because right now they’re still just gross.

Wikipedia article for Zombies and Wikipedia article for Vampires

 Vampires vs Zombies (click on the pictures to see them bigger)

 

I guess some girls do really want a Zombie boyfriend…

There are also tons of YA Zombie fiction.

Zombies for Zombies: Advice & Etiquette for The Living Dead by David Murphy, Zombie Haiku: Good Poetry for your Brains by Ryan Mecum, Zombie Queen of Newbury High by Amanda Ashby

Pride & Prejudice and Zombies by Jane Austen and Seth Grahame-Smith, Generation Dead by Daniel Waters, Generation Dead: Kiss of Life by Daniel Waters

Zombie Survival Guide by Max Brooks, World War Z: An Oral History of the Zombie War by Max Brooks, Soulles by Christopher Golden

Zombie Blondes by Brian James, Forest of Hands and Teeth by Carrie Ryan, The Dead-Tossed Waves by Carrie Ryan

You are so Undead to Me by Stacey Jay, Never Slow Dance with a Zombie byEnrich Van Lowe

2 Responses

  1. […] on January 24, 2010 by greybird24 As many of you know I was a little hesitant about the whole zombies as high school students/boyfriends thing, however that didn’t come close to my apprehension for […]

  2. I think it’s safe to say with the Twilight phenomenon gripping the globe, Team Edward has surpassed zombies at least for now. But vampires are so…aloof. And complicated. Why can’t we just eat brains? Besides, lots of good life lessons to learn from zombies, the great tragic heroes: http://onetontomato.wordpress.com/2010/07/18/what-i-learned-from-zombieland/

Leave a Reply

