Faeries

As many of you know I was a little hesitant about the whole zombies as high school students/boyfriends thing, however that didn’t come close to my apprehension for the growing number of faerie books available for YA. Don’t get me wrong, I love faeries in traditional fantasy books, but when one starts dating the high school nobody, or worse the high school nobody actually turns into a faerie, things get a little concerning. To be honest I thought the idea was stupid. However, I have been proved wrong. I read Wings over Christmas break (review tomorrow) and loved it. I thought it was wonderful, and I can definitely see the appeal, I mean it is really not that different from vampires, or my new friends, zombies. So in honour of my new appreciation for faeries in the paranormal/fantasy genre I thought I would compile a list of some recent faerie books (there sure were a lot in 2009).

Wings by Aprilynne Pike, Need by Carrie Jones, Captivate by Carrie Jones

 

Ash by Malinda Lo, Bones of Faerie by Janni Lee Simner, How to Ditch your Fairy by Justine Larbestier,

 

Wicked Lovely by Melissa Marr, Ink Exchange by Melissa Marr and Fragile Eternity by Melissa Marr

 

Wonderous Strange by Lesley Livingston, Daylight by Lesley Livingston

Lament: The Faerie Queen’s Deception by Maggie Stiefvater, Ballad: A gathering of Faerie by Maggie Stiefvater, Fairy Tale by Cyn Balog

3 Responses

  1. I’m with you… I was really hesitant as well – but have fallen for them. I just bought Captivate this weekend and can’t wait to get it started – I’m just finishing the second book in Alson Noel’s immortal series.

  2. I’ll be looking forward to your thoughts on Captivate!

  3. […] my faerie post for more YA faerie […]

Leave a Reply

